It’s okay to be an English major.

“For we pay a price for everything we get or take in this world; and although ambitions are well worth having, they are not to be cheaply won, but exact their dues of work and self-denial, anxiety and discouragement.” Anne of Green Gables

Image

So, I hope you’re reading this, whoever you are, as a hopeful or current English major. Or maybe you’re a skeptic? A concerned parent whose child just admitted to wanting to be an English major? No matter what, I hope with this blog I can ease some of your worries and even spread some knowledge along the way.

I am currently an English Literature and Communications major at SUNY Brockport in Brockport, NY. Almost on the daily I am told, “Good luck with getting a job…” or asked, “So, you really like Shakespeare, huh?” There is a huge stigma on English majors goals, potential, and even intelligence.

My parents, undoubtedly, wanted me to become a nurse, or an engineer, or really anything other than become an English major. Although there are many opportunities for an English major after graduation, it is very important to have a plan, passion and drive, and most importantly, the will to overcome stereotypes and obstacles.

In this blog, I will discuss the many different options English majors have, whether that is in teaching, publishing, editing, writing, public relations, and much more. I hope to open a few eyes on different English major career paths and I hope you’ll join me for the ride!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

